Filed Under:  Arts & Culture, Local, News

NAUW’s local branch to honor past president

20th February 2012   ·   0 Comments

Dolores Bergquist Coyé is this year’s New Orleans Branch of the National Association of University Women (NAUW) “Woman of the Year” and will be honored at the 102-year-old organization’s Founders’ Day Luncheon on March 17, 11:30 a.m. in the Blue Room of the Roosevelt Hotel.

Ms. Bergquist, who was inducted into the NAUW in 1968 and reinstated in 2003, is the immediate past president of the local chapter.

Established in 1910, the NAUW fulfills the need for an organization of “college alumnae of color to stimulate young women to attain professional excellence, to exert influence in various movements for the civic good, and to promote a close, personal and intellectual fellowship among college women”. Its founders were Mary Church Terrell, Dr. Sara Winifred Brown, Dr. Nancy Fairfax Brown and Mary Cromwell.

Chairperson for the Founders’ Day Luncheon is Barbara Harrison. Branch president is Barbara H. Doublet.

For ticket information to attend the Founders’ Day luncheon persons can call (504) 723-5108 or (504) 390-9063.

This article originally published in the February 20, 2012 print edition of The Louisiana Weekly newspaper.

Readers Comments (0)

You must be logged in to post a comment.