Filed Under:  Local

New Orleans Alpha Chapter celebrate 92 years with 2017 Scholarship Gala

26th December 2017   ·   0 Comments

A sea of “alpha” males and their friends and family gathered at the Marriott Convention Center Hotel in New Orleans as the Sigma Lambda chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. Scholarship Foundation hosted its 2017 Scholarship Gala on December 9.

The event raises money to provide scholarships for young deserving men. Contributing sponsors for the event included Liberty Bank, Democrats for Education Reform Louisiana, Dooky Chase’s Restaurant, Dillard University, State Farm Jonathan Stewart, Daughters of Charity, Harrah’s New Orleans, Gulf Coast Bank & Trust, State Farm Ayneka Bruno, and Victor Haydel.

Members of the Sigma Lambda chapter of Alpha Phi Fraternity Inc.

Members of the Sigma Lambda chapter of Alpha Phi Fraternity Inc.

The marquee event of the year coincides with the brotherhood’s Founder’s Week. This year Alpha Phi Alpha made 111 years old. The Sigma Lambda chapter celebrated 92 years of service in New Orleans.

Several dignitaries attended including: Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity. Inc., General President Dr. Everett B. Ward, Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Johnson, Judge Nakisha Ervin-Knott, Judge Rachel Johnson, Judge Paula Brown, Judge Terri Love, Orleans Parish Clerk of Court Dale Atkins, and the 2017 Zulu King and Queen, Adonis Exposé and Donna Marie Glapion. Also, well-noted members of the Sigma Lambda chapter came out in support including: Dr. Norman Francis and Dr. Charles Teamer Sr. (Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. 27th General President).

This year’s honorees were New Orleans Police Superintendent Michael Harrison and the Orchid Society.

During the gala, Sigma Lambda brothers were honored for their dedicated service throughout the year. Ananie Mitchell received the “House of Alpha” award. Dr. Joe Ricks and Wilfred Jones received the Esprit de Fraternite award. The highest honor went to Kendall McManus-Thomas, who took home Alpha Man of the Year.

Sigma Lambda chapter president Tyronne Walker was given an award of distinction, bestowed by the fraternity’s general president Dr. Everett B. Ward, the fraternity’s general president. Ward called Walker one of the “best chapter presidents” out of the more than 650 chapters across the world.

This article originally published in the December 25, 2017 print edition of The Louisiana Weekly newspaper.

Readers Comments (0)

You must be logged in to post a comment.